Search by city
or postal code:
Search our site:
Donate

Meet Dorian

Add to favourites

Dorian is an absolute sweetheart! He’s an anxious boy who is adapting well to living in a house. He’s house trained and has had no accidents.

From him:
My ideal home would be in a quiet neighbourhood with a backyard. I’ve spent the summer with Foster mum in the garden and love roaming around and following her noises. I’d prefer to live with just females but if a man is gentle and patient with me; I can learn to love him too. I like to be around other dogs and have been living with another female dog in my foster home. We don’t really play with each other but she is a third of my size and I would probably win anyway. We both prefer each other’s food and will swap bowls when Foster mum isn’t looking.

I have a problem with my vision and am almost totally blind. I can be a bit clumsy, especially when I am anxious, but have learned my new home and am bumping into things less and less. When we walk I let my human be my eyes and am very responsive to my lead being pulled left or right. My human needs to be strong enough to support my weight when I step down off the curb as I cannot see how far down it is and can hurt my ankle. For this reason I probably can’t live in a house with a full flight of stairs. It sounds like I am high maintenance, but I promise I am not! Foster mum tells me that I am a very clever boy and am an absolute delight to have around. What I lack in vision I make up for in utter sweetness!

I’m a great eater and love my meals. I do stop eating when I’m worried about something but will come back to my bowl in time. My first few days I only ate at night time, but as I got used to my routine and surroundings; I was less shy about eating. I have no food aggression and will let my foster mum take my bone away without a fuss. I do take an antidepressant for my anxiety which has worked wonders! Foster mum puts it in cheese or my wet meat and it’s such a treat!

I love my walks! In my previous life I was a very active dog and would love to keep my fitness up. As my vision isn’t what it used to be; I am very scared of the noises that come from cars, trucks and construction sites etc. I’m getting better at walking around them as I learn to trust my humans; however, I enjoy myself far more when in a quiet environment where I am calm enough to stop and sniff the bushes. Bush/trail walks are the best!!

I am on anti-anxiety medication and will need to be on them lifelong or until I am no longer a hazard to myself in a home environment. I am awaiting my neuter appointment and must see a vet locally so my adopter must be able to travel to and from the North Shore.

Share This Pet



About Me

  • Days in care: 244
  • Approximate age: 8 years old
  • Pet Type: Dog
  • Breed: Husky
  • Colour: Black / Grey
  • Weight: 25 kg
  • Sex: Male
  • Location: West Vancouver Branch, West Vancouver B.C.
  • Animal ID: 524234
  • Spay or neuter surgery is included with the adoption of all dogs, cats and rabbits.
  • Adoption fees

Compatibility

Important: The history and compatibility of an animal is not always known. If certain compatibility criteria have been identified, they will be listed here or in the animal's description.
  • Special Needs Special Needs




Are you ready to adopt Dorian?

What's Next?




advertisement